Out of the Frying Pan

I watched this Ted talk a while ago and I have to say, it’s done a lot to change my perspective on stress.

Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean I don’t have any (stress), it doesn’t mean I’m not up until the wee hours of the morning fretting and stewing about the future. In fact, whether my change in perspective has anything to do with it or not- it seems like recently, there’s just more and more and more stuff to worry about.

The classroom portion of my course is winding to a close. Final exams are coming in ….CRAP! 23 DAYS!! And we are collectively holding our breaths about practicum placements- which our school is holding out on giving our assignments to the very. last. possible. moment.

I’ve had to sorta-kind-of quit my hardware store job- I can’t give them any information about my availability until my placement is assigned and I have a schedule with my preceptor. My boss was as understanding as possible considering, but I’m pretty sure once I have a schedule, it won’t be meshing with what he needs me for.

Realistically, I should be up to my neck in power-points and textbooks and scenario practice- but instead I have a rare combination of Study Narcolepsy and Spring Fever. Every time I crack a book, there’s a stray sunbeam drifting into my line of sight and I either start to snore and drool like a cat or I’m itching to get up and go outside. (I should just take the damn books outside, I know)

Anyway… One of our particularly amazing instructors gave us all a bit of advice. “Take care of yourselves this month… You’re headed into final exams and about to be thrown into the fire on practicum. If you’ve been partying, stop. If you’re not getting enough sleep, start. Lay off the caffeine and the junk food and booze, get out and get some exercise and fresh air. Take care of yourselves.”

And so, instead of banging my head against the wall, I’ve decided to take his advice (fortunately, I don’t have any partying to give up on). And I made up a list of things to do instead of FREAK OUT about everything that’s coming down the chute.

1. Get out and walk. (this is one of my favorite things to do anyway. Winter seems to be over and sometimes when I’m at school I take off on lunch and go for a walk just because)

2. Get to bed before 1am. Before midnight. Ideally before 11 excluding the evenings I’m in school and don’t get home before 10:30 anyway.

3. Turn off the TV. I can lose HOURS to the tube- and always end up feeling guilty because I should have been doing something else… like studying.

4. Music. I like to pretend I can play guitar- but it’s been so long since I’ve picked mine up that all the callouses have disappeared from my fingers. But it’s relaxing and it makes me feel good.

and finally, 5. Make a plan. I’m working on that right now. There’s a shit-tonne of material to cover and I need to figure out a pace and make sure I’m working through it and covering any of my weak spots.

So, when life starts throwing crap at your head, DUCK! And take care of yourselves!

 

About staggeringduck

Look, I'm just awesome ok?
This entry was posted in My Life, School, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Out of the Frying Pan

  1. peech01 says:

    way to go girl……..will be thinking of you when I am out walking also. Thats called – the power of ‘two’

Leave a comment